Aarne Granlund
1 min readSep 7, 2017

--

Someone below challenged the framing I proposed on the basis that it lacks concrete proposals for taking personal action on reducing emissions.

I argue that such framing is obsolete. We have a 500 billion dollar advertising industry telling everyone exactly the opposite to ‘taking personal climate action’ — most of green awareness is tribal signalling. No one in the ‘climate scene’ can compete with that industrial machinery.

Because of the scale and rate of physical change, my framing is proposed to influence structural decision making. Policy makers, land-use and infrastructure planners, civil society and industry leaders.

I will write an other piece for diverse publics. I think there it is important to frame climate change as a leadership issue. Personal action needs to be structural too.

Good resource expanding on what is said above:

https://www.helixclimate.eu/working-paper-the-challenge-of-communicating-unwelcome-climate-messages/

--

--

Aarne Granlund

Climate mitigation expert. Sufficiency is my lifestyle. Fly fishing, skiing, nature.